Indy 500 and Nine Winners

Nearly a quarter of this year’s field consists of previous winners

By Gary S. Vasilash

(Image: IMS)

On May 30 the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 is scheduled to be held.

While things can change between now and then, here’s something of at least moderate interest:

In the field of 35 cars (18 will have Chevy engines, 17 Hondas; all are Dallara chassis (a.k.a., cars) running on Firestone tires), there will be nine people who have won “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing.”*

They are:

  • Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002, 2009)
  • Juan Pablo Montoya (2000, 2015)
  • Takuma Sato (2017, 2020)
  • Scott Dixon (2008)
  • Tony Kanaan (2013)
  • Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014)
  • Alexander Rossi (2016)
  • Will Power (2018)
  • Simon Pagenaud (2019)

If Castroneves manages to win, he will be the fourth driver to have won the race four times, with the current three being A.J. Foyt, Al Unser Sr., and Rick Mears.

*The phrase “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing” was written by Alice Greene, a copywriter working for WIBC radio. Some sources have it in 1954 and others in 1955.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s